Using things up – 48 days to go

48 days.. eek! soo much to do! 😉

well in an attempt to get everything done and packed up in time we started packing a couple boxes today. 2 boxes, just full of books (not super large boxes as we still need to be able to lift them!). And we still have enough books around for at least one more box! but it feels good to have made a start. Got me all excited! 😉

In an attempt to use up everything in my kitchen before we move, I am making pavlova today. This …

pavlovamagic… has been sitting in my cupboard for donkey’s years (honest!). It belongs to Alex. It actually comes from Australia! He loves pavlova and insisted I kept it when I found this in his cupboard 3 years ago, despite it being out of date. He was certain nothing could go bad, a bit like honey.. who knows? Anyway, today I decided to use it so it’s gone LOL! (I won’t be eating it anyway, so it doesn’t bother me that it was out of date, and he seems happy to eat it 😉 ). One thing less in my cupboard! yay! ;D

other things on my to make list for using up ingredients:

– tarte au raisineé (delicious speciality from French part of Switzerland) -> to use up a bottle of raisineé (a sticky syrup made by boiling down apples and pears that are not good enough to sell or eat raw)

– semolina pudding

– oat biscuits

that’s the list for now. This week I have also made tuna rice salad and buckwheat salad in an attempt to use up all the grains left in my cupboard. They were both well received and I had fun throwing them together 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Using things up – 48 days to go

    • thanks :). the pavlova didn’t quite work out unfortunately. didn’t bake it long enough it seems (soggy in middle) :(. I did follow the instructions! Oh well 😉 can’t win them all.

comments - would love to hear from you :)